Five State of Hawaii leaders named finalists for prestigious awards recognizing IT efforts to make state governments more efficient

Posted on Mar 13, 2023 in Featured, News

Three members of the Enterprise Technology Services (ETS) team have been selected as finalists for the 2023 StateScoop 50 Awards which every year honors the best IT leaders across the United States who make state governments more efficient and effective.

ETS Chief Information Office (CIO) Doug Murdock is a finalist in the Golden Gov category as a visionary state executive leading state government into a new technology landscape with innovative ideas and inspiring others to get on board.

Chief Information Security Officer Vincent Hoang and Arnold Kishi, Senior Advisor to the CIO, are finalists in the State Leadership category to recognize public sector principals helping government implement new technologies, strategies, and IT programs.

Department of Transportation Director Ed Sniffen, and Department of Human Services CIO Mark Choi are also both finalists in the State Leadership Category.

The ETSMainframe-as-a-Service” program is a finalist in the State IT Innovation category to acknowledge cutting-edge state IT approaches to cross-agency or intra-agency technology that embraces innovation.

For sixty years, the State of Hawaii used mainframes housed in substandard data centers for its seven most critical systems. Recognizing the unacceptable operational risk, the CIO spear-headed state adoption of “Mainframe as a Service” (MFaaS). MFaaS offers vastly superior platforms in state-of-the-art high-security data centers, a needed disaster recovery model, lower total operating costs, and a clear path to modernization.

The StateScoop 50 awards celebrate the outstanding achievements of our IT leaders and acknowledges their tireless efforts to make a positive impact in the government IT community and in public service.

Anyone can vote for these finalists at

Voting closes on April 7 and the winners will be announced on April 30.

Three members of the ETS team, Arnold Kishi (left), Doug Murdock and Vincent Hoang have been selected as finalists for the 2023 StateScoop 50 Awards.